All scholarships
InternshipCurrent intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements.

ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme

Last verified 21 October 2026 by the Scholarships for Africans editorial team

Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements. Open for 12 months, starting 1 March 2027 for current intake. Eligibility and application conditions apply.

Provider
International Committee of the Red Cross
Host country
Switzerland
Deadline
2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.
Region
Europe

Applying from your country? See your edition: Kenya · Nigeria · Ghana · Ethiopia · Uganda · Tanzania · Rwanda · Angola · Mozambique · São Tomé & Príncipe · Senegal · Cameroon · Ivory Coast · Benin · Togo · DR Congo

Eligibility & requirements at a glance

Review the recorded eligibility, funding and deadline information below. Confirm the current award conditions on the provider's official source.

Who can apply
All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.
Funding
Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements.
Study level
Internship
Deadline
2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.

Key eligibility criteria

  • All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.

Recorded funding information

  • Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements.

About the ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme (2026)

ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme Programme category: Internship Provider: International Committee of the Red Cross Destination: Switzerland Level: Internship Cycle: 12 months, starting 1 March 2027 for current intake Application status checked 21 October 2026: OPEN. Funding Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements. Eligibility All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work. Conditions and exclusions Airfare and housing coverage are not established by the current advert. Applicants from sanctioned countries may encounter recruitment-platform access restrictions. Application timing 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated. How to apply Apply through the provider-linked application page for the stated intake and follow its document requirements. Application route: https://careers.icrc.org/job/Geneva-(GVA)-Law-and-Policy-Outreach-Associate-33462/1444827433/ Official information: https://careers.icrc.org/go/Graduates-and-Students/3808201/ Programme landing-page vacancy widget returned empty, but the exact role page has Apply now and a future deadline; use exact live intake as current-open evidence. ICRC assists with visas and provides the Swiss legitimation card. Checked against official provider sources on 21 October 2026. Provider instructions and current eligibility conditions govern; an award is not guaranteed unless the provider explicitly states this.

Funding information

The funding information below is recorded in this listing; it does not establish additional covered components. Check amounts, caps, exclusions and conditions on the official source.

  • Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements.

ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme eligibility

Always cross-check eligibility against the sponsor's official site before applying — sponsor rules can change between intakes.

  • All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.

ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme document information

No explicit document checklist is recorded here. If an application is required, prepare only the materials the provider requests.

    How to apply for the ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme 2026

    Follow the provider's stated process. The checks below are guidance, not additional application requirements. Any original editorial instructions remain in the description above.

    1. 1
      Check the provider's process

      Consult https://careers.icrc.org/go/Graduates-and-Students/3808201/ to confirm whether consideration is automatic or requires an application, and follow only the process stated there.

    2. 2
      Check eligibility and any requested materials

      Listed eligibility: All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.. Confirm the current criteria and, if submission is required, use the provider's own checklist.

    3. 3
      Check dates and next steps

      Listed deadline information: 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.. Confirm any cutoff, time zone and follow-up process with the provider.

    ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme deadline & application timeline

    Provider deadline information: 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.. This text cannot be safely converted to a countdown; check the official source for its meaning. The earlier milestones are optional planning suggestions only.

    1. Planning suggestion: 12 months out

      Check the current call and decide whether this opportunity fits your plans.

    2. Planning suggestion: 6 months out

      If the provider requires tests or documents that take time, plan for them using its published instructions.

    3. Planning suggestion: 3 months out

      If an application is required, review the provider's process and prepare only the materials it requests.

    4. Planning suggestion: 1 month out

      If submission is required, allow time to check your materials and any stated cutoff.

    5. Provider deadline
      2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.

      Provider deadline information: 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.. Confirm the current instructions and any cutoff or time zone on the official source; no additional time is assumed here.

    Ready to apply?

    Cross-check the latest eligibility rules and deadline on the sponsor's official portal before you start your application.

    Visit official site

    Share this scholarship

    Send the application link to a friend or post it to your network.

    Tell us you're applying

    Share your details and we'll send deadline reminders plus similar awards you qualify for. Takes under a minute.

    We only use this to support your application. We never sell your details.

    Editorial verification note

    Current Law and Policy Outreach Associate advert still offers Apply now and closes 23 October 2026; 1 March 2027 start, 12 months and CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. Programme landing widget is empty, so this exact intake is the open-call evidence. All listed primary sources returned HTTP 200 during this check. No published cutoff hour/timezone. Date is for one current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the entire recurring programme. Maximum two years of professional experience, including no more than one post-study year in full-time paid work. Airfare and housing coverage not established; embargo-country platform access restrictions can apply.
    Last checked 10/21/2026

    Frequently asked questions

    Who can apply for the ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme?+

    All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.

    What funding does the ICRC Associate Traineeship Programme offer?+

    Listed funding: Current intake pays CHF 3,934 gross monthly in 13 installments. This is distinct from compulsory unpaid student placements.. Confirm amounts, exclusions and conditions on the official source. This label does not establish any additional benefit components.

    When is the application deadline?+

    Provider deadline information: 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.. Confirm the current cutoff and any time zone on the official source; no additional cutoff or late-submission policy is assumed here.

    What documents do I need to apply?+

    No explicit document checklist is recorded here. If an application is required, prepare only the documents requested by the provider; requirements may differ from admission requirements.

    How do I check the application process?+

    Consult https://careers.icrc.org/go/Graduates-and-Students/3808201/ to confirm whether consideration is automatic or requires an application, and follow only the process stated there. Listed eligibility: All nationalities. Recent graduates with at most two years' experience. Current intake requires a relevant advanced degree, English, digital-communications skills, and 1–2 years including internships; at most one year may be post-study full-time paid work.. Confirm the current criteria and, if submission is required, use the provider's own checklist. Listed deadline information: 2026-10-23. Deadline is for verified current Law and Policy Outreach intake, not the whole recurring programme. Closing time and zone not stated.. Confirm any cutoff, time zone and follow-up process with the provider.

    Guides for this scholarship

    Next steps & guides

    Pick the guide that matches where you are right now.

    Explore related programmes

    Long-form sponsor guides, country pages and category pages connected to this scholarship.

    Browse by category & country

    Related hubs

    Open the broader hub pages for every country, destination and field this scholarship touches.