All scholarships
PostdoctoralPaid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits.

UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28

Last verified 24 October 2026 by the Scholarships for Africans editorial team

UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28: Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits. Eligibility: Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.

Provider
University of California
Host country
United States
Deadline
November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.
Region
Americas / Oceania

Eligibility & requirements at a glance

Review the recorded eligibility, funding and deadline information below. Confirm the current award conditions on the provider's official source.

Who can apply
Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.
Funding
Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits.
Study level
Postdoctoral
Deadline
November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.

Key eligibility criteria

  • Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.

Recorded funding information

  • Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits.

About the UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 (2026)

## Funding Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits. ## Funding exclusions and obligations 2027 salary not guaranteed. Five-year total postdoctoral service limit; work authorization required. ## Eligibility Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply. ## Application timing November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated. ## How to apply Secure a tenured UC sponsor, then use the linked PPFP portal with research proposal, thesis abstract, writing sample, education statement, CV and mentor/reference details. ## Corrections from the recheck Keep 2026 salary explicitly a reference, not a guaranteed 2027 salary. ## Official sources - [https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/evaluation-and-selection.html](https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/evaluation-and-selection.html) - [https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/applicant-faqs.html](https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/applicant-faqs.html) - [https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/application-instructions.html](https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/application-instructions.html) ## Supplied immigration and travel advisories The following advisories were supplied with the research package and were not independently reverified during this publication check; confirm current official rules before travel. african_nationalities_B_F_M_J_suspension: Angola; Benin; Burundi; Côte d’Ivoire; Gabon; Gambia; Malawi; Mauritania; Nigeria; Senegal; Tanzania; Togo; Zambia; Zimbabwe; african_nationalities_full_suspension: Burkina Faso; Chad; Republic of the Congo; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Libya; Mali; Niger; Sierra Leone; Somalia; South Sudan; Sudan; checked_at_utc: 2026-10-23T21:01:14.518991+00:00; id: US_PP10998_2026; source: https://travel.state.gov/en/newsroom/visas/2026/suspension-of-visa-issuance-to-foreign-nationals-to-protect-the-security-of-the-united-states.html; summary: Programme eligibility is not U.S. visa clearance. State Department rules effective 1 January 2026 suspend all visa categories for certain nationalities and B/F/M/J categories for others. The rule concerns people outside the U.S. without a valid visa on that date, subject to exceptions including qualifying dual nationals and permanent residents. Previously valid visas were not revoked by this proclamation. Check the official rule and the host’s visa office for individual circumstances; host sponsorship cannot override immigration restrictions. ## Verification notes and limits Programme nationality eligibility is not US visa clearance; applicant-specific immigration restrictions and exceptions require official verification. Uploaded country-specific visa advisory was not independently reverified and is not endorsed here. Rechecked 2026-10-24T22:46:00Z; evidence: live-official. Public official sources checked; no login or submission performed. One family including UC Chancellor and National Laboratory designations; not counting campus or partner-university variants. 2026 salary is explicitly a reference, not a guaranteed 2027 figure. Programme nationality eligibility is not U.S. visa clearance; see shared U.S. visa advisory. U.S. programme nationality eligibility is not visa permission; see the accompanying PP10998 advisory and verify the applicant’s citizenship, passport, valid visa and exception status.

Funding information

The funding information below is recorded in this listing; it does not establish additional covered components. Check amounts, caps, exclusions and conditions on the official source.

  • Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits.

UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 eligibility

Always cross-check eligibility against the sponsor's official site before applying — sponsor rules can change between intakes.

  • Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.

UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 document information

No explicit document checklist is recorded here. If an application is required, prepare only the materials the provider requests.

    How to apply for the UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 2026

    Follow the provider's stated process. The checks below are guidance, not additional application requirements. Any original editorial instructions remain in the description above.

    1. 1
      Check the provider's process

      Consult https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/evaluation-and-selection.html to confirm whether consideration is automatic or requires an application, and follow only the process stated there.

    2. 2
      Check eligibility and any requested materials

      Listed eligibility: Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.. Confirm the current criteria and, if submission is required, use the provider's own checklist.

    3. 3
      Check dates and next steps

      Listed deadline information: November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.. Confirm any cutoff, time zone and follow-up process with the provider.

    UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 deadline & application timeline

    Provider deadline information: November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.. This text cannot be safely converted to a countdown; check the official source for its meaning. The earlier milestones are optional planning suggestions only.

    1. Planning suggestion: 12 months out

      Check the current call and decide whether this opportunity fits your plans.

    2. Planning suggestion: 6 months out

      If the provider requires tests or documents that take time, plan for them using its published instructions.

    3. Planning suggestion: 3 months out

      If an application is required, review the provider's process and prepare only the materials it requests.

    4. Planning suggestion: 1 month out

      If submission is required, allow time to check your materials and any stated cutoff.

    5. Provider deadline
      November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.

      Provider deadline information: November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.. Confirm the current instructions and any cutoff or time zone on the official source; no additional time is assumed here.

    Ready to apply?

    Cross-check the latest eligibility rules and deadline on the sponsor's official portal before you start your application.

    Visit official site

    Share this scholarship

    Send the application link to a friend or post it to your network.

    Tell us you're applying

    Share your details and we'll send deadline reminders plus similar awards you qualify for. Takes under a minute.

    We only use this to support your application. We never sell your details.

    Editorial verification note

    Programme nationality eligibility is not US visa clearance; applicant-specific immigration restrictions and exceptions require official verification. Uploaded country-specific visa advisory was not independently reverified and is not endorsed here. Rechecked 2026-10-24T22:46:00Z; evidence: live-official. Public official sources checked; no login or submission performed. One family including UC Chancellor and National Laboratory designations; not counting campus or partner-university variants. 2026 salary is explicitly a reference, not a guaranteed 2027 figure. Programme nationality eligibility is not U.S. visa clearance; see shared U.S. visa advisory. U.S. programme nationality eligibility is not visa permission; see the accompanying PP10998 advisory and verify the applicant’s citizenship, passport, valid visa and exception status.
    Last checked 10/24/2026

    Frequently asked questions

    Who can apply for the UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28?+

    Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.

    What funding does the UC President’s Postdoctoral Fellowship Program, 2027–28 offer?+

    Listed funding: Paid postdoctoral appointment; 2026 salary reference approximately $71,491; health benefits.. Confirm amounts, exclusions and conditions on the official source. This label does not establish any additional benefit components.

    When is the application deadline?+

    Provider deadline information: November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.. Confirm the current cutoff and any time zone on the official source; no additional cutoff or late-submission policy is assumed here.

    What documents do I need to apply?+

    No explicit document checklist is recorded here. If an application is required, prepare only the documents requested by the provider; requirements may differ from admission requirements.

    How do I check the application process?+

    Consult https://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/how-to-apply/evaluation-and-selection.html to confirm whether consideration is automatic or requires an application, and follow only the process stated there. Listed eligibility: Terminal degree before appointment; tenured UC mentor; campus residence. Non-US citizens and non-permanent residents may apply.. Confirm the current criteria and, if submission is required, use the provider's own checklist. Listed deadline information: November 1, 2026; mentor and reference letters December 1, 2026; time/timezone not stated.. Confirm any cutoff, time zone and follow-up process with the provider.

    Guides for this scholarship

    Next steps & guides

    Pick the guide that matches where you are right now.

    Explore related programmes

    Long-form sponsor guides, country pages and category pages connected to this scholarship.

    Related hubs

    Open the broader hub pages for every country, destination and field this scholarship touches.

    By destination