All scholarships
Undergraduate, MastersPartial 457 days left

2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa)

Last verified 28 September 2026 by the Scholarships for Africans editorial team

20% off tuition for the standard length of an eligible ECU bachelor's or coursework master's starting in 2027. Only citizens of Mauritius and South Africa are eligible. Open 1 Jul 2026 – 31 Dec 2027.

Provider
Edith Cowan University
Host country
Australia
Deadline
31 December 2027 (time not stated)
Region
Oceania

Eligibility & requirements at a glance

2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) is open to African students applying to study in Australia at the Undergraduate, Masters level, with partial funding. Below is a quick summary of who can apply, what's covered, and the key dates — full details are further down the page.

Who can apply
Undergraduate, Masters · applicants for Australia
Funding
Partial
Study level
Undergraduate, Masters
Deadline
31 December 2027 (time not stated)

Key eligibility criteria

  • Citizens of Mauritius or South Africa starting an eligible on-campus ECU bachelor's or coursework master's in 2027 as full fee-paying, non-sponsored international students.

What the partial award covers

  • Full tuition
  • Monthly stipend

About the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) (2026)

Edith Cowan University (Perth, Australia) offers a 20% tuition fee reduction to international students from selected African countries who start eligible study in 2027. ## What it covers - 20% off tuition fees for the standard duration of an eligible course - Tuition reduction only — no stipend, travel or living costs - Cannot be deferred to a later intake ## Who can apply - Citizens of **Mauritius or South Africa** only (the official eligible-country list for 2027) - International, full fee-paying, non-sponsored students (not holding a government scholarship or industry sponsorship) - Starting an eligible CRICOS-registered undergraduate or Master by Coursework programme on campus at Joondalup, City or South West campus in 2027 - Most bachelor's courses are eligible except one-year Honours, WAAPA courses and a listed set of exclusions (e.g. some Education, Nursing and Health courses); only listed coursework master's are eligible (e.g. MBA, Master of Data Science, Master of Engineering, Master of Public Health) ## Key dates - Opens: 1 July 2026 - Closes: 31 December 2027 (ECU gives no time or timezone)

What the Partial 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) covers

The award components below were extracted from the sponsor's published description. Always cross-check the exact figures, ceiling amounts and conditions on the official site before you budget around them.

  • Full tuition
  • Monthly stipend

2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) eligibility for Australia applicants

Always cross-check eligibility against the sponsor's official site before applying — sponsor rules can change between intakes.

  • Citizens of Mauritius or South Africa starting an eligible on-campus ECU bachelor's or coursework master's in 2027 as full fee-paying, non-sponsored international students.

Documents required for the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) application

A planning baseline drawn from how 90%+ of African scholarship sponsors structure their checklist. The sponsor's portal is the source of truth for any single application.

  • Valid international passport (bio page scan)
  • Most recent academic transcripts (sealed or e-verified copies)
  • Curriculum vitae / résumé (1–2 pages, reverse-chronological)
  • Personal statement or motivation letter (500–1,000 words, tailored to the sponsor)
  • Two to three reference letters (academic for students, professional for working applicants)
  • Proof of English proficiency (IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo) — Medium-of-Instruction letter may substitute for Anglophone-Africa graduates
  • Passport-sized photograph meeting ICAO biometric standards
  • Research proposal or statement of purpose (500–2,000 words for PhD)
  • Published or unpublished writing sample (PhD and research-led Masters)
  • Standardised test scores where required (SAT or ACT for many U.S. universities)
  • Secondary-school leaving certificate (WAEC, KCSE, NSC, EGSECE or equivalent)
  • Country-of-origin proof (national ID or birth certificate) — required by many Africa-focused funders

How to apply for the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) 2026

A practical, sponsor-agnostic sequence used by >95% of international scholarship applicants. Adapt to the sponsor's specific portal — the order rarely changes.

  1. 1
    Confirm eligibility on the official site

    Open https://www.ecu.edu.au/scholarships/details/2027-africa-international-scholarship and verify the sponsor's stated criteria match your profile — currently: "Citizens of Mauritius or South Africa starting an eligible on-campus ECU bachelor's or coursework master's in 2027 as full fee-paying, non-sponsored international students.". Sponsor rules change between intakes, so always confirm against the live call.

  2. 2
    Secure a study place or admission offer

    Apply to the host university or programme first where required, and obtain a conditional admission letter. A growing number of sponsors only fund applicants who already hold an offer.

  3. 3
    Sit required tests and gather documents

    Register for IELTS / TOEFL / Duolingo (or SAT / GRE where required), request official transcripts, brief two or three referees, and prepare passport and identity documents at high resolution.

  4. 4
    Draft your essays and statements

    Write a 500–1,000-word personal statement and any additional essays the sponsor specifies. Anchor each essay in concrete examples and tie your goals back to the sponsor's mission.

  5. 5
    Complete the online application

    Create an account on https://www.ecu.edu.au/scholarships/details/2027-africa-international-scholarship, fill in every field, and upload the required documents in the formats specified (PDF, max file size, single-file vs multi-file). Aim to have the full draft complete by 1 Nov 2027. Save progress frequently — most portals time out after 30–60 minutes.

  6. 6
    Submit by 31 December 2027 (time not stated) (aim 7 days early)

    Sponsor portals routinely slow or fail in the final 24 hours before the 31 Dec 2027 deadline. Submit early, download the confirmation receipt, and screenshot the submission timestamp. Late submissions are not accepted under any circumstances.

  7. 7
    Prepare for shortlist interviews

    If shortlisted, Edith Cowan University will contact you within 4–12 weeks. Re-read your essays, rehearse 3–5 likely questions out loud, and confirm your time zone for any video interview.

2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) deadline & application timeline

Working backwards from the sponsor's stated deadline (31 December 2027 (time not stated)). Dates assume a smooth, single-attempt timeline — start earlier where you can.

  1. 12 months out
    5 Jan 2027

    Register for tests (IELTS/TOEFL/SAT/GRE), shortlist 3–5 universities, identify referees.

  2. 6 months out
    4 Jul 2027

    Sit your tests, draft a personal statement, request transcripts and confirm reference letters.

  3. 3 months out
    2 Oct 2027

    Finalise essays, upload supporting documents, complete the online application portal.

  4. 1 month out
    1 Dec 2027

    Final review, double-check uploaded files, submit a week before the deadline to avoid portal issues.

  5. Application deadline
    31 Dec 2027

    Submit by 23:59 in the sponsor's stated time zone — usually local to the sponsor, not your country.

Ready to apply?

Cross-check the latest eligibility rules and deadline on the sponsor's official portal before you start your application.

Visit official site

Share this scholarship

Send the application link to a friend or post it to your network.

Tell us you're applying

Share your details and we'll send deadline reminders plus similar awards you qualify for. Takes under a minute.

We only use this to support your application. We never sell your details.

Editorial verification note

Checked 28 Sep 2026 against ECU's official scholarship page text. Eligible-country list on the page is Mauritius and South Africa only.
Last checked 9/28/2026

Frequently asked questions

Who can apply for the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa)?+

Applicants must be eligible African nationals applying at the Undergraduate, Masters level, meet the academic and English-language requirements set by Edith Cowan University, and be able to relocate to Australia for the duration of the programme.

Is the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa) fully funded?+

Funding model: Partial. Where listed as fully funded, the award typically covers tuition, monthly stipend, health insurance and round-trip airfare. Always confirm the latest funding breakdown on the sponsor's official page.

When is the application deadline?+

The application deadline is 31 December 2027 (time not stated). Submit at least one week early — sponsor portals frequently slow or fail in the final 24 hours, and late submissions are not accepted under any circumstances.

What documents do I need to apply?+

At minimum: passport bio page, academic transcripts, CV, personal statement, two to three references, and an English-language test score (IELTS, TOEFL or Duolingo). Research-led Masters and PhD applications also require a research proposal and a writing sample.

How can I improve my chance of winning?+

Apply early, tailor every essay to the specific sponsor (do not recycle a generic statement), secure at least one reference who knows your work in detail, and apply to two or three additional scholarships in parallel — never rely on a single application.

What Australian visa do I need for the 2027 Africa International Scholarship — Edith Cowan University (Mauritius and South Africa)?+

Scholarship holders enter Australia on a Student visa (Subclass 500). You apply after receiving a Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) from your university, and must show your scholarship award letter, Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), evidence of the Genuine Student (GS) requirement, and a valid passport. Apply at least 6–12 weeks before your course start date.

What English-language score do Australian universities require?+

Australian universities typically require IELTS Academic 6.5 overall (no band below 6.0) for undergraduate and coursework Masters, and 6.5–7.0 for research degrees. For the Subclass 500 visa, you generally need IELTS 5.5 (or equivalent PTE Academic 42, TOEFL iBT 46) unless your prior degree was taught entirely in English. Some universities accept PTE Academic, TOEFL iBT, and Cambridge English alongside IELTS.

Can I stay and work in Australia after my scholarship ends?+

Yes — the Temporary Graduate visa (Subclass 485) lets you stay 2–4 years after completing an Australian degree, depending on the qualification (2 years for a Bachelor or coursework Masters, 3 years for a research Masters, 4 years for a PhD). Regional graduates can apply for an additional 1–2 years. You must apply within 6 months of completing your course and meet English and health requirements.

Guides for this scholarship

Next steps & guides

Pick the guide that matches where you are right now.

Explore related programmes

Long-form sponsor guides, country pages and category pages connected to this scholarship.

Related hubs

Open the broader hub pages for every country, destination and field this scholarship touches.

By destination