Georg Forster Research Award for Developing Countries – Study in Germany

Six Georg Forster Research Awards are available for students from developing countries. Read the rest of the article to discover if you are eligible for the opportunity.

The awards are granted in recognition of a researcher’s entire achievements to date. Through the Humboldt Foundation, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany has made the opportunity possible.

Application date: October 31, 2021

About the Georg Forster Research Award

The Georg Forster Research Award for Developing Countries amounts to €60,000. In Germany, research awards are generally exempt from income tax under German tax law.

Academics of all disciplines whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and beyond are ideal candidates for the research award. Furthermore, women researchers are also encouraged to apply.

Upon receiving the said awards, participants are expected to continue developing research-based solutions to the specific challenges facing transition and developing countries.

The project duration lasts about six to twelve months but can be divided into segments.

Eligibility Criteria

The selection committee makes its decision solely on the basis of the nominees’ academic qualifications and the relevance of their research to the development of their own countries.

In turn, the applicants must have had their main residence and place of work in one of these countries for at least five years at the time of their nomination.

In order for an aspiring grantee to be qualified for the awards, he/she must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Nominees must be nationals of a developing or transition country (excluding People’s Republic of China and India; cf. detailed list of countries).
  • Furthermore, at the time of nomination, they must have had their main residence and place of work in one of these countries for at least five years.
  • The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation particularly encourages the nomination of qualified female researchers.

Eligible Developing Countries

Applicants from the following countries are viable for the Georg Forster Research Award:

Afghanistan, Ecuador, Macedonia, Samoa Albania, Egypt, Madagascar, Sao Tomé, Príncipe Algeria, El Salvador, Malawi, Senegal, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Malaysia, Serbia, Antigua and Barbuda, Eritrea, Maldives, Seychelles, Argentina, Ethiopia, Mali, Sierra Leone, Armenia, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Azerbaijan, Fiji, Mauritania, Somalia, Mauritius, South Africa, Mexico, South Sudan, Bangladesh, Gabon, Micronesia, Fed. States, Sri Lanka, Belarus, Gambia, Moldova, Rep. St. Kitts and Nevis, Belize, Georgia, Montenegro, St. Lucia, Benin, Ghana, Morocco, St. Vincent, Bhutan, Grenada Mongolia, the Grenadines, Bolivia, Guatemala, Mozambique, Sudan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Guinea, Myanmar, Suriname, Botswana, Guinea-Bissau, Swaziland, Brazil, Guyana, Syria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Namibia, Tajikistan, Haiti, Nauru, Tanzania, Honduras, Nepal, Thailand, Nicaragua, Timor-Leste Cambodia, Indonesia, Niger, Togo, Cameroon, Iran, Nigeria, Tonga, Cape Verde, Iraq Niue Tunisia, Central African Republic, Turkey, Chad, Jamaica, Turkmenistan, Chile, Jordan, Tuvalu, Colombia, Pakistan, Comoros, Kazakhstan, Palestinian territories, Congo, Dem. Rep. of Kenya, Palau, Uganda, Congo, Rep. of the Kiribati, Panama, Ukraine, Cook Islands, Korea, Dem. PR of Papua New Guinea, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Kosovo, Paraguay, Uzbekistan, Cote d’Ivoire, Kyrgyzstan, Peru, Cuba, Philippines, Vanuatu, Laos, Venezuela, Lesotho, Rwanda, Vietnam, Dominica, Lebanon, Dominican Republic, Liberia, Djibouti, Libya, Yemen, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

How to Apply for the Awards

You may start your application process by registering and creating an online nomination for a Georg Forster Research Award.

For other questions, clarifications, and concerns, please visit the official Georg Forster Research Award webpage.

brought to you by Scholarships for Africans

Scholarships for Africans is a premier scholarship information blog committed to bringing more opportunities for Africans globally. They are part of the African Scholar Initiative, powered by Scholarship Hippo.

Be a part of our growing community!
JOIN: Scholarships for Africans Facebook group
LIKE: African Scholar Initiative Facebook page

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: