Australia Awards Scholarships in Africa

Australia’s international development assistance in Africa aims to help people overcome poverty through economic development. The Australia Awards form a core part of Australia’s development assistance in Africa. The Awards develop the capacity and leadership skills of Africans to enable them to contribute effectively to development in their home country.

Australia Awards Scholarships are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders for development. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Applicants will be assessed for their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, their potential to impact on development challenges in Africa.

Applications are strongly encouraged from women and people with disability.

Priority fields of study

The priority areas of study for Africa are aligned with development priorities indicated at:

Level of study

Australia Awards Scholarships

These Scholarships provide citizens of eligible African countries with the opportunity to obtain a postgraduate qualification at an Australian tertiary institution. Awards are available for studies at Masters-level for 11 African countries. Details of eligibility by country can be found

Short Course Awards

The Australian Government also offers a range of short courses for applicants seeking targeted professional development studies in extractives governance, agricultural productivity, and public policy.  Awards are available for 22 African countries. For information on how to apply visit:

Australia Awards Benefits

Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian education institution, including any preparatory training.

Scholarship recipients will generally receive the following:

  • return air travel
  • a one-off establishment allowance on arrival
  • full tuition fees
  • contribution to living expenses
  • introductory academic program
  • Overseas Student Health Cover for the duration of the Scholarship
  • supplementary academic support and
  • fieldwork allowance (for research and masters by coursework which has a research component where fieldwork is a compulsory component).


Equity and participation

Mechanisms and funding are available to support people with disability to participate in the Australia Awards Program. To ensure equity and broad participation, the Australian Government encourages women, people with disability, ethnic minorities, people living in rural areas and members of socio-economically disadvantaged groups to apply.

Eligibility criteria

Australia Awards applicants must meet all eligibility requirements detailed in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook, available at:

Additional eligibility criteria may vary from country to country. For more details on the application guidelines and eligibility for your country, please visit the following website:

Special conditions

Special conditions may also differ from country to country. For more details on the conditions for your country, please visit

Application dates (for Masters study commencing in Australia in 2019)

Opening date:     1 September 2017

Closing date:      15 December 2017

Applications or supporting documents received after these dates will not be considered.

Application dates (for Short Course Awards commencing in 2018-19)

Opening date:     1 September 2017

Closing date:      15 January 2018

Applications or supporting documents received after these dates will not be considered.

The application process­

Electronic applications

We strongly advise applicants to submit their application and all required supporting documentation via email to the correct e-form.

The e-form can be obtained by sending a request via the Australia Awards website for Africa:

Hardcopy applications

Application forms can be downloaded from: www.australiaawardsafrica.organd must be submitted to the Australia Awards offices in Nairobi, Kenya or Pretoria, South Africa, as indicated on the application form.

Supporting documents

Applicants must submit with their application all of the relevant supporting documents listed in the Australia Scholarships Policy Handbook, available at:

Document type Certified
Proof of citizenship i.e. birth certificate /passport if available and photographic identification i.e. student card/drivers license if a passport is not available. yes
Tertiary degree certificates (Bachelors level for Masters Awards and Masters level for Ph.D. awards) yes
Academic transcripts (where they are not in English please provide an English translation) yes
IELTS, TOEFL or PTE Academic results No
Academic Referee Reports (with seal) No
Employment Referee report with seal No
Curriculum Vitae No
Reintegration Action


Letter from Supervisor No
Signed Signatures and Commitments Page No
Statutory Declaration Yes

The selection process­

  • Following eligibility checking, applications will be shortlisted. The selection process will also include an interview. Applicants will be assessed against the following criteria:
    • Academic competence
    • Potential outcome, including contribution to development outcomes in your home country.
    • Professional and personal leadership attributes
    • Work experience and level of seniority in the organization.

Preparatory training

  • All successful applicants will be required to attend a pre-departure briefing
  • You may be required to complete the following preparatory training and or testing:
  • IELTS-International English Language Testing System to assess English language competence.


All applicants will receive notification as to whether they have been successful by July 2018.

Participating countries

Scholarships and Short Course Awards

  • Botswana
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia

Short Course Awards Only

  • Cameroon
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Ethiopia
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe